Attempted Runner.


Race Recap: Brazen Racing – Diablo Trails Adventure

There isn’t a whole lot that I can say about Diablo Trails Adventure that I haven’t written about before. This is the second.. maybe third, time I have participated and it’s also the same set up (course and apart of the Save Mount Diablo Organization) as Diablo Trails Challenge, that I have done (and recapped) a few times, as well.
With that said, this recap will be pretty short and sweet. After I did Diablo Trails Challenge earlier this year, they (Mt. Diablo org) sent out a survey regarding the race and a few winners to receive a free entry into Diablo Trails Adventure. Seeing the word free, I filled out the survey and a few weeks later I got notice that I was one of the lucky few for the rave entry. I could have signed up for any distance, but because of my training plans and the lack of willpower to go any higher up on the mountain, I stuck with the 5k.

image

J and I arrived early, and as we were about to go get our bibs, we ran into That Girl. We gave her, her Rocky Ridge sweatshirt J picked up for her and we all headed over to the bib pick up/staging area. Not a whole lot happened between that point and race start, since we were pretty much 2 hours early. We cheered off That Girl as she went off for the early hikers start and said hi to AMERzing. We then walked back to the car to get J’s boot for bag check. Yep, that’s right….J went to the Podiatrist and they stuck her in a boot. She has some issue with the tendon in her foot not keeping her arch up or something. She’s suppose to stay in the book for something like 8 weeks and not suppose to be walking very far. Sooooo, of course that means, she would walk the 5k then put the boot on after. J and I got into a little debacle, but it was finally decided that I would walk the entire 5k with her to make sure she would walk it herself. She called me the Pace Police. So, as Mr. Brazen finally sent us on our way, there J and I were….in the back….walking. it gave me a chance to take pictures.

image

image

image

image

image

We ended up catching up to a lady that J knew who was wlking because she was recovering from an injury but also walking with her 6 (?) month old. I figured I could relinquish ny duties to pace police to her, so a little after a mile (the first aid station), I said bye to them and went on running. Since the majority of the 5k people already passed us, the trail itself was pretty empty. I was my own for a small amount of time until the 10k people caught up to me and they were making their way back. I took it slow and didn’t try to set any records. My second and third mile were pretty dang consistant with only a 9 second difference between the two. I made it into the finish line, grabbed my sweatshirt from sweat check, some apple cider and waited for J to finish. From my finish time, to hers, I think I waited around for 20 minutes. When I finally saw her coming in, I stood over by the finish line. She crossed then started looking for me. I was literally 3 feet in front of her and she couldn’t find me. No one was standing in between us go block her view. I thought that was hilarious.
Just then, my running hero, Dr. Awesome who just finished his half marathon (he came in first in his age group and 5th overall. Not bad for an old man, I told him), he said hi, gave me a hug then we went our seperate ways. It is, after all, kind of awkward to be associated with your boss outside of work, despit me how cool he is. Hahhhaha.
We hung around a little longer afterwards before finally leaving the park.
Somehow we ended up at Sports Basement and stayed there for almost an hour. Becuse shopping makes you hungry, we thenagically appeared at Lucille’s BBQ. I seriously love that place……..great, now all I can think about are ribs.

image

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Those pictures are gorgeous! (And the medal is super cool!)

Comment by dgobs

Not bad for a camera phone, huh?

Comment by Attempted Runner

Those were with a camera phone?! Nice!

Comment by dgobs

HOW MUCH FREE STUFF DO YOU GET… this is ridiculous… I’m not playing anymore!!! I’ve not even read past ” I was one of the lucky few for the rave entry” and I’m fuming!!

Comment by rundelrun

I dont win as much as some….but I do win more than you. :0D

Comment by Attempted Runner

… dislike

Comment by rundelrun

I have yet to run on Diablo and I really want to! I see the mountain all the time from my view in SF. Good job!

Comment by Single-Tracked Mind




Leave a Reply

