Attempted Runner.


#Janathon 12: I’m ok with not making a full 40 minute workout.
01.12.14, 19:58
Filed under: Fitness, Janathon, running | Tags: , , , ,

I did it. I went for a run…outside even! I’ve mentioned it a few times already, but I’ll say it again. I have a hard time running outside. If I’m with someone it’s not a problem but solo, I just don’t like it.

After about 3 hours of trying to convince myself to go for a run, with only an hour left of daylight, I finally got my running junk on and went for it. I even took RunDelRuns’ advice and wore a race shirt so people knew I was a seasoned [attempted] runner and not a New Years Resolution runner. I wore both my Garmin, for mileage and my Polar HRM watch just to see what the HRM stats were. I couldn’t decide if I wanted to be like my Grandma when she was in the midst of her Alzheimer’s and wear more than one watch (she did it with 4-5 because she forgot that she had one on, so put put another. Then another. Then another. Oh, how I miss her) on a single arm or if I wanted to have one on both wrists. I ended up not wanting to look any more dorky than I already do, so I strapped the Polar around my water bottle.

I said to myself….I said, “Self, you’ll only go 2 miles.” When I got to the turn around point I figured I can turn around at 1.25 for 2.5 miles. By the time I got there, I just said screw it and went 1.55 to make a full 5k.

Yet again, my Polar didn’t reach a full workout that was in an incrament of 10 minutes but from the title of this post, I was glad that it wasn’t a full 40 minutes. I was under 40 which is what I always strive to achieve. One day it’ll always be under 35 but it’ll be a bit before I get there. 
image

Which calorie burn is more believable?
image

Halfway through the run, my hip flexor was getting sore since I didn’t tape it up  and it’s hurting now. It hurts now to get up and down. I think its going to be a pain in the ass tomorrow trying to move around. ::crosses fingers:: let’s just wish for resting it over night will do the trick.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great job on getting outside! But I hope the hip is better before this weekend

Comment by Runningfromitall

I’ll tape the shit out of it all weekend. I should be ok…or at least a million times better than the last DL10k.

Comment by Attempted Runner

I sure hope so! I want you to have a happy race weekend in Disney.

Comment by Runningfromitall

I get funny about time or mileage being on certain numbers too. Like today I had a 90 minute run on my schedule and I was all excited that it worked out to be exactly 10.5 miles at 90 minutes and a few spare seconds.

Hope your hip heals overnight!

Comment by Pandora Viltis

Pretty fancy how you did that magic trick of 10.5 in 90. And Thanks!

Comment by Attempted Runner

Woohoo! Good on you for getting outside. Starting is always the hardest part 🙂 Nice job going for the full 5k too!

Comment by emilysrunningadventures

Well done on hitting your time and pushing the distance. I hope your hip forgives you!

Comment by Sam

Thanks but sadly, it has not. Yikes.

Comment by Attempted Runner




Leave a Reply

