Attempted Runner.


Race Recap: Brazen Racing – Quarry Turkey
12.01.13, 22:05
Filed under: Brazen Racing, Race Recap, running | Tags: , , ,

My Thanksgiving didn’t end on Thursday. I skipped the shopping and participated in Brazen Racing‘s Quarry Turkey 5k, 10k and half marathon. I signed up for the 5k and was a little worried about this run only because my knees were still a little sore from Nitro Turkey but I tried not to think too much of it and just to have fun.

I’ll skip the typical race recap starting paragraphs and skip to meeting my running buddies (I had three this time!J, TR and JL) and arriving to the lake.

During the drive over, J asked what time our race start was (8:40), because she started to panic that we wouldnt make it on time. I assured her that we would be there by the 8am start to watch the half marathoners go. So when we got to the lake at 7:45, I kept thinking that our start was at 8 I took off my sweatshirt and gloves because I only had “15” minutes before race start. Then as were walking to the starting area, I realize it’s really cold (45℉) and then was reminded we were at 8:40 so I pretty much had an hour to wait around….half naked. I was freezing!!!!
image

I should really consider sweat check. I mean they obviously have it for a reason.

We hung out for a bit, then was time to get into the corrals. This was JL’s first race and she was a little nervous. I remember that first time feeling. The nerves, the excitement, the adrenaline….I still get it, but it’s not like that very FIRST time feeling. We said our “have funs” and “good lucks” and then it was time for us to start.

I set off and bobbed and weaved through the bottleneck at the start. This is always the worst part at any race because you want to get out there but can’t. I ended up getting stuck behind a girl that had pants that would not stay up. Finally after seeing her buttcrack for the fourth time I did a major race no no and dashed out and cut someone off just to pass the girl. I’m sorry runner, it needed to be done.

During the first mile, I was feeling ok and just thought that I’ll get to the one mile marker and walk. Around 3/4s mile, I still was feeling ok. My knees were fine, despite being sore the previous day. I thought I’d run a little past the mile mark before I started to walk. The mile marker came and went and I kept going. I made sure I didn’t look at Garfield, as he would make every 1/4 mile seem to take forever to get there.

Before the start, Mr. Brazen let us know that the aid station was at 1.80 miles. I have done this course maybe two or three times before, so I knew where the station would be. When I got to 1 1/2 I was still running and thought that if I can just make it to the water station I would be ok. So, I kept going.

image
When I reached the aid station, I grabbed a water and walked while I drank it and then walked just until Garfield was at an even minute. I probably walked for only 30-45 seconds before I started running again. When I reached 2 miles, I thought maybe, just maybe I can run the full thing.

Other than the magical Disney 4.5ish miles at my half marathon, I’ve never ran more than 1.5 miles without stopping for a walk. Before or after all my injuries. I don’t know how much of my water break walk I should count (for the record, I’m not counting it as walking) but at that 2 miles….I was proud. I was doing great. I continued and pushed on. I focused on finding markers to run to.

Run to that bush.

Catch up to that person walking.

The top of that hill.

I made it all the way to 2.60 before I stopped for a walk break. I only stopped because I started coughing. My asthma started to kick in cause the cold, I think. But who cares. I ran 2.6. I don’t even know where that came from either.

I didn’t have a goal set before the race like I normally do and I just went for it. Maybe since I didnt have my own pressures to make a goal, I didn’t have anything to think about and just blanked. I have it in me somewhere. I made it 4.5 miles once. I wasn’t thinking during that portion of Disney. Guess I shouldn’t think and just do.

I just was.

I walked for about .10 of a mile. If you haven’t caught on, I’ve made a rule for myself that if I walk, it’s only for .10 of a mile or less at a time and I run no less than .20 before taking another break.

I started running again and was getting tired, but now I couldn’t stop. I made it to the 5k part in 37:55 I believe. That’s one of my fastest times, both officially and unofficially. However, it wasn’t my time for this run because Mr. Brazen said the course was 3.4 miles. I tried to hold out for the last .30 miles but that last part is also up hill. I was getting very tired and I stopped to a walk, long enough to wave to JL’s family, tell them I’m tired and then started up again. Probably only 15 seconds worth of walking.

I was super tired. Like wobbley leg tired, but I finally crossed the finish at 39:17. It’s not my fastest (yes, I know it was longer than a normal 5k but I still compare it to other 5ks. 3.1 and 3.4 is the same for me in my race timing log), but it was still under my always goal of less than 40 minutes and I ran at least 2.9 of the 3.4 miles.

Garfield had me at 3.2 miles, J’s Nike+ was 3.19 and the race a few months prior was 3.2 as well, so I think Mr. brazen was a little mistaken when he said 3.4. I think he meant 3.2 miles.

Now, me running 2.9 of 3.2 is more logical based on the walking breaks I had. Either way, I almost ran a full 5k!!

My knee was still feeling ok. Ferris (my knee band) is magic and really helps. So glad I got one.

Since I ran Nitro on Thursday and Quarry on Saturday, I got a third medal to connect the two. I’m a Thanksgiving double trot hot shot!
image
After all of us finished, we went over to the snacks. I got some chips and pineapple. I also got some hot apple cider because I was starting to get cold agian and the warmth helped my asthma subside. See. Brazen has the best post race food spread. As I’m walking around, I hear the clanggity clanks of people’s medals. The finishers medals and age group top finishers. The finishers medals and the double trot medal. It was music to my ears. The sweet melody of “medal” music jist reminded me that I can do things. I can push myself more each time and accomplish great things just like each and every person clanking around me as they grabbed for another peice of pumpkin cheesecake or some marshmallows to drop into their hot chocolates.

We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams. -Willy Wanka….originally quoted from Arthur O’Shaughnessy.

JL ended up leaving for a party but J, TR and myself stuck around to wait for the results to be posted and fun photos to be taken.
image

image
We ended up leaving but because it was still a little early, we didnt do our tradition of getting lunch after. Nothing (that we like) was open for another 45 minutes so we just went back to J’s.

A’s dad….my new father in law, and his girlfriend are moving so rather than going home and relaxing for the rest of the day, I went over to help them. By the time the day was over….at 3pm, not only were my knees about to fall off but my muscles all over hurt from picking up all those boxes.
I think A and I were so tired we called it a night 7:30.

I woke up this morning and everything hurt. JL posted on her facebook that everything hurt after her first 5k and the worst part is when she gets on/off the toilet. I laughed because I remebered that same feeling after my first 5k, but with all the moving I did yesterday and running almost all of the 5k, I felt just like she did.
I honestly can say that I haven’t felt like that in a long time and I felt great. It was worth it.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My Nike+ said 3.20 also. You did awesome, congrats!

Comment by Runningfromitall

Well done! I jealous of your medal. My turkey trot didn’t give them out.

I’ve nominated you for an award on my blog, btw 🙂

Comment by Pandora Viltis

Yea, Brazens pretty awesome like that.

Thanks!!

Comment by Attempted Runner




Leave a Reply

