Attempted Runner.


Whats in a name?

The other day I saw a twitter post from Jeremy Smith (his twitter here) that read, “Your name should become your reputation.” Now, I do not know Jeremy in any other way other than just a fellow twitter’er, yet that comment he made had me thinking.  My Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and this here blog all went by the handle “attemptedrunner” because it was short enough for links and easy enough to remember. However, the name I went by was “Attempted Runner, Convicted Slacker.”

Your name should become your reputation.

Based on that, I have decided to drop the convicted slacker portion. Why one might ask? Because 1. it’s still early in the game where no one will notice and 2. Because I am serious this time. I want this to happen. I don’t want to make the same mistakes and errors that I have made in the past few years. I have been running since 2011 and two years later, I should not still be running with the same times as the beginner. Lets be honest, even some beginners are faster than me and that shouldn’t be!! I am starting fresh and new. Those past two years of running WAS the Attempted Runner, Convicted Slacker. I no longer want that negative connotation behind my name…I do not want my reputation to be that of a convicted slacker. So, this year and moving forward, I will be the Attempted Runner.

at·tempt·ed run·ner; To make an effort to achieve or complete (something, typically a difficult task or action), by someone who runs.

All my accounts have been changed. Updated bios and since I am not longer “ashamed” of the convicted slacker title…I no longer have to “hide” and I even changed a profile picture to show me…The Attempted Runner.   Don’t know if that’ll bring in more followers or not.   (Rule #2 for successful blogging: Be attractive). But that doesn’t really matter. I am not doing this for anyone but myself. If I encourage or motivate people along the way then that is fantastic. If not….I don’t care, as long as I am the only one who is encouraged and motivated.

I am the

AR logo full

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi! I just discovered your blog today and stumbled on this post. I recently started my own blog about running to try to help motivate myself, and this post of yours jumped out at me because I, too, have referred to myself as a slacker. I call out my own questionable motivation several times on my blog, and now I’m thinking maybe I should move beyond that… I don’t want my super lack of motivation to become my reputation!

Anyway, it’s reassuring to know I’m not the only runner out there who has struggled with improving race times after a few years at it, and, without meaning to sound too gushy and cheesy, your starting anew and getting more motivated is inspiring… hopefully I can kick my butt into gear as well 🙂

Keep up the awesome!

Comment by dgobs

I still haven’t improved much…..but I’m still trying and what’s 30 seconds faster today may be 5 minutes faster tomorrow. Just stick with it and focus more on the fun you have rather than times…..even though it’s REALLY hard!

Comment by Attempted Runner




Leave a Reply

